Self-Titled Part 2 . Imperfection

There’s a moment where things click. When I was in the studio I was threading the songs together and I…thought of this performance which was a really defining moment in my life as a child. In my mind we would perform on Star Search, we would win; we would get a record deal and that was my dream at the time. There’s no way in the world I would ever imagine losing as a possbility. You know, I was only 9 years old so, at that time, you don’t realise that you could actually work super hard and give everything you have and lose! It was the best message for me. When I put Ed MacMahon introducing us as “the Hip-Hop rapping Girls’ TYME” it clicked something in my mind. I feel like something about the aggression of Bow Down and the attitude of Flawless – the reality is, sometimes you lose. And you’re never too good to lose, you’re never too big to lose, you’re never too smart to lose; it happens, and it happens when it needs to happen. And you have to embrace those things

Leave a Reply

